Updates!!

I launched my new site Givemeyourvision.wordpress.com about a month ago.  If you haven’t subscribed yet, please do so!  I also went through the email contacts I had from my world race blog and entered them in the word press blog, so double check your email/spam folder for an email requesting a subscription. 

Besides the website, I’ve been making bookmarks to hand out.  The idea behind the bookmarks is that you (people stateside) would take one and pray for someone in Africa/around the world.  These are people I’ve met along my journeys and whom I have information on.  I tell everyone we are the hands and feet together, so this brings my mission work to life.  You get to see a tangible person, couple, or family and pray for them!  If you’ve missed out on this opportunity and would like a bookmark, please contact me so I can send you one via snail mail or meet up!

  • I’ve continued to study my Swahili with lessons from friends at times and Duolingo.  I’m grateful for technology! 
  • I’ve also been speaking at churches.  If you’ve missed out and still want to attend, I have TWO more opportunities.  The first one is THIS SUNDAY at West Hill UMC (March 6th) at 11am.  The second opportunity is Sunday, March 27th @ Big Spring UMC at 10:30am.  I’m also open to any other opportunities!  Please let me know if you’d like me to speak at your church or Sunday School. 
  • I’ve had a lot of BEAUTIFUL “catch ups” with friends.  I’m still making my rounds and will be in Massachusetts next week and Florida for a week and half after that. 
  • I’ve been able to get connected to a women’s Bible study.  We currently are going through Max Lucado’s “Outlive Your Life” devotional.  It’s beautiful for this season home.  It’s making me process my time abroad a lot, yet also challenging me for how to live purposefully while home in my season of waiting.

Speaking of “season of waiting”: Yes, I’m still home.  Yes, it’s difficult.  Yes, I’m still support raising.  No, I still don’t know when I’m returning back. I’m not vaccinated, and Kenya is still requiring the vaccine certificate to enter.  I’m still seeking God’s direction on all of this.  But Praise God, ministry is still continuing over there.

  • January: Two bicycle helmets were purchased for two men who use bicycles as their means of transport to work every day.  Living at a poverty income, purchasing a helmet is difficult when you are just trying to survive with paying for housing and food.  Thank you to the generous donation specifically meant to fund these helmets!   
  • February: One man had two teeth pulled, a root canal procedure, a full-scale teeth cleaning, and a cavity will be filled in March.  Thank you to an anonymous donor who is covering these procedures!

Let me know if you have a certain passion for which you would like to contribute to a cause.  There are many needs.  School fees, school supplies (a new term will start at the end of April), dental, ophthalmology, food, rent/housing, sanitary napkins and other hygiene items (soap, shampoo, deodorant), and so much more!  

  

Stuffed Animal Project Update:

The animals continue to be sewn and stuffed with love in Nairobi, Kenya.  The house is becoming a bit more filled as they continue to be made.  Stateside, I’ve received some donations of polyfil and material.  I also tried my hand at some sewing, although that’s not my main focus while home.

Bible Project Update:

Funds for Bibles continue to come in! (Thank you SO MUCH!).  As I’ve had a lot of time to think while home, I’ve been looking into the best methods of Bible distribution.  I’ve realized that in the villages AUDIO BIBLES are probably more beneficial than physical Bibles.  I’ve been researching about devices to be able to do this.  There is some COOL technology out there!  We had a device called a lightstream on my World Race in 2019 and it’s been the device I’ve been researching the most.  I’ll continue to update you all more on this at a later time.  Physical Bibles will also be handed out whenever and wherever possible too!! 

Future Project (Stateside)

My biggest project I’m hoping to work on while stateside is transforming my blogs into books (Photo books)!  One book for every year of my mission work.  To be included in each book would be my blogs from that year and of course, LOTS OF PICTURES!      

Thank YOU for your continued support (love, prayers, and finances) while I navigate everything with COVID and mandates.  I have learned and I have seen OVER and OVER and OVER that every time I think I have everything planned out, God’s plan is better. 

I would appreciate prayers for wisdom, direction, patience, and contentment for my heart in this season.  Asante sana!    

8 thoughts on “Updates!!

  1. I really like your new format on your new site!

    Keep up your great work and go where God leads you and neads you.

    Like

  2. Good to hear from you. I am planning to head t the USA Tuesday. Remember, vaccines are part of missionary travel. Before Covid, I got vaccinated for yellow fever, tetanus,typhoid, etc and have to keep them up to date. Blessings

    Like

Leave a comment